icon Version Publication
Created by Orckestra

Managing versions of a page

When using the Version Publication add-on, you can:

How to create a new version of a page and schedule it for publication

  1. Edit a page.
  2. Click "Add Version".
  3. Enter a name for the version.
  4. Specify the "Publish date".
  5. If needed, specify the "Unpublish date".
  6. Click "OK".

The new version will open in the Visual Editor.

It is a copy of the currently selected version. If no version previously existed, it will be a copy of the default version called "Original"

You can now go on to edit the content and save and publish this version.

Note. This new version will go live on the website if its Publish Date is later than any other version's and it is published.

How to switch between versions of a page

  1. In the Content perspective, select a page with multiple versions. The version switcher will appear to the right of the address bar.
  2. Select a version in the drop down menu of the switcher.

The version will show up in the browser view.

'/c1version({VersionName})' will be appended to the path in the address bar where {VersionName} is the version you've selected, for example, '/c1version(Original)'.

How to edit a specific version of a page

  1. In the "Content" perspective, select the page.
  2. Switch to the version you want.
  3. Click "Edit Page" on the tool bar.

The selected version of the page will open in the Visual Editor.

Or alternatively:

  1. Open any version of the page in the Visual Editor.
  2. Use the "Add Version" drop down menu to select the version you want.

How to get an overview of existing versions

  1. In the "Content" perspective, select the page.
  2. Click "Publication Schedule". The Publication Schedule view opens.

Here, you can see:

  • all the currently active versions.
  • which version is currently live and/or scheduled for publication
  • publish and unpublush dates (if any) on each version
  • edit and delete a specific version
  • view the past (currently inactive) versions

Note. To edit or delete versions in this view, hover over a version. The "edit" and "delete" buttons appear on the right.

Or alternatively:

  1. Edit a page.
  2. Click "Publication Schedule" (in the Visual Editor).

How to change the Publish / Unpublish dates of a version

  1. Open the "Publication Schedule" view.
  2. Hover over the version you want to change the date(s) of.
  3. Click the "edit" button. The "Edit Version" dialog will show up.
  4. Change the date(s).
  5. Click "OK".

Or alternatively:

  • Open the "Publication Schedule" view form within the Visual Editor.

How to delete a specific version

  1. In the "Content perspective", open the "Publication Schedule" view.
  2. Hover over the version you want to delete.
  3. Click the "delete" button.
  4. Click "OK" in the confirmation dialog.

Note. You can't delete the currently edited version in this manner. Rather than opening the "Publication Schedule" view from the Visual Editor, open it from the "Content" perspective.

Or alternatively:

  1. In the Content perspective, select the page.
  2. Select the version you want to delete.
  3. Click "Delete" on the toolbar.
  4. In the "Delete Page Versions" dialog that shows up, select the option "Delete only current version" (default).
  5. Click "OK".

How to delete all versions of the page

Important. Deleting all versions of the page means deleting this page altogether.

  1. In the Content perspective, select the page with multiple version.
  2. Click "Delete" on the toolbar.
  3. In the "Delete Page Versions" dialog that shows up, select the option "Delete all versions".
  4. Click "OK".
  5. If prompted, confirm the delete.

Note. If the page has no versions (except for "Original") a regular "Delete" confirmation dialog will show up.

Part of subscriptions:

Have a question?

Phone: +45 39 15 76 00
Email: Write us
3:13 PM
(Local time at HQ)