icon Content Versioning
Created by Orckestra

Content Versioning User Guide

Restoring Deleted Content

You can restore deleted content items from the Content Modification Log.

The following content items can be undeleted:

  • Pages
  • Media files
  • Global data items
  • Page data folder items

To restore a deleted content item:

  1. Open the Content Modification Log from the System perspective.
  2. Locate and select a content item (for example, a page) with the “Delete” activity.
  3. Click “Restore” on the toolbar.

Figure 28: Restoring a deleted page

The item will appear in its corresponding location.

The versioning history will have a “Rollback” task logged for this operation.

Figure 29: A page rollback logged

Limitations and recommendations

Please take into account the following recommendations and limitations when restoring deleted content:

  • The following page-related data is not restored when a page is restored:
  • Its subpages if any
  • Its page metadata
  • Attached page data folders
  • Data attached to the page via page data folders
  • Attached CMS Console applications (tree definitions)
  • Data attached to the page via CMS Console applications
  • On single-language websites CMS pages are restored as root pages, which you are informed with a respective message about. You may want to move the restored page to its original location manually.
  • On multiple-language website, CMS pages are restored to its original position provided that the page still exists in at least one locale.
  • CMS pages and publishable data items are restored unpublished.
  • To restore a global data item, make sure that the global data type is still available.
  • To restore a page data folder item, make sure that the page data folder it belongs to is still attached to a page.
  • Media files will restore the original folder structure if it has not been kept.
Back to top
Part of subscriptions:
Version 2.6.7

Have a question?

Phone: +45 39 15 76 00
Email: Write us
10:22 AM
(Local time at HQ)